Plant Display

Tuesday, 13 November 2012

plant display

Jasper Spicero
Plant Display
14/11/2012 - 17/12/2012

Private view
13/11/2012
7 pm - 11 pm GMT (2 - 6pm EST / 11am – 3pm PST)

bubblebyte.org is pleased to present Plant Displaya solo exhibition of works by Portland based artist Jasper Spicero.
Jasper Spicero is an artist and curator born in Yankton, South Dakota and currently based in Portland, Oregon. Referencing equally the spaces imagined by film makers, computer game designers and lifestyle marketing - each simplified, each driven by a few key metrics - Spicero's images and objects suggest an uncomfortable causal tangle between the spaces we wish to inhabit, the people we wish to be, and the options that are made available to us. Imagination and storytelling transform each image or object into possible settings, inspiring action and reaction to a given space. There work has to be discovered via browsing, using fragmentation in time and space as a tool for change.

For Plant Display, Spicero presents nine plant arrangements as adaptations of the screenplay ‘Adaptation’ by Charlie Kaufman. 

Laroche: You know why I like plants? 
Orlean: Nuh uh. 
Laroche: Because they're so mutable. Adaptation is a profound process. Means you figure out how to thrive in the world. 
Orlean: [pause] Yeah but it's easier for plants. I mean they have no memory. They just move on to whatever's next. With a person though, adapting is almost shameful. It's like running away.”

“Plants”

Attilia Fattori Franchini & Rhys Coren
http://bubblebyte.org
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Artists